

THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWN OF COBOURG

2018 MUNICIPAL ELECTION

NOTICE OF NOMINATIONS FOR OFFICE

Notice is hereby given to the Municipal Electors of the Town of Cobourg that nomination papers for the 2018 Municipal Election may be filed in person or by an agent with the Municipal Clerk/Returning Officer as of Tuesday May 1st, 2018 up to Thursday, July 26th, 2018 at the Municipal Clerk's Office, Victoria Hall, 55 King Street West, Cobourg between the hours of 8:30 AM and 4:30 PM and on Nomination Day, Friday, July 27th, 2018 between the hours of 9:00 AM and 2:00 PM.

The required nomination fee for a Member of Councilor/School Board Trustee is \$100.00 and the required fee for the Head of Council is \$200.00. The required fee shall be in the form of cash, debit, a certified cheque or money order made payable to the Town of Cobourg and must accompany the signed form.

New Requirement this year that each Nomination Paper (excluding School Board Trustee Candidates) <u>must be signed by 25 eligible voters supporting the</u> <u>nomination.</u> The individuals providing signatures must sign a declaration stating that they are eligible to vote in the Municipality on the day they sign the endorsement.

You are entitled to be an elector and to run for office if you are not disqualified by any Act or Law and on Voting Day if you are:

- 1. A resident of the Town of Cobourg; or,
- 2. A non-resident, who is an owner or tenant of land in the Town or the spouse of or same sex partner of such owner or tenant; and,
- 3. A Canadian Citizen; and,
- 4. Of the full age of 18 years.

POSITIONS FOR WHICH A PERSON MAY FILE A NOMINATION PAPER FOR MUNICIPAL OFFICE:

MAYOR (1 TO BE ELECTED AT LARGE)

DEPUTY MAYOR (1 TO BE ELECTED AT LARGE)

COUNCILLOR (5 TO BE ELECTED AT LARGE)

SCHOOL BOARD TRUSTEES NOMINATIONS (ENGLISH, FRENCH, PUBLIC AND SEPARATE SCHOOL BOARDS:

Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board (English Language Public School Board)

Two (2) Trustees to be elected for the combined area of Alnwick/Haldimand Township, Town of Cobourg, Hamilton Township and the Municipality of Port Hope. **Nominations shall be filed in the Town of Cobourg Municipal Clerk's Office**.

Peterborough, Victoria, Northumberland and Clarington Catholic District School Board (English Language Separate School Board)

One (1) Trustee to be elected for Northumberland County. **Nominations shall be filed in the Town of Cobourg Municipal Clerk's Office.**

Conseil Scolaire Viamonde (French Language Public School Board)

One (1) Trustee to be elected by French Public electors in the Regional Municipality of Durham, Counties of Northumberland, and Peterborough and Cities of Kawartha Lakes, Peterborough and Quinte West

Nominations shall be filed in the City of Oshawa Municipal Clerk's Office, 50 Centre Street South, Oshawa.

Conseil Scolaire Catholique MonAvenir (French Language Separate School Board)

One (1) Trustee to be elected by all French Catholic Electors in the areas of the Region of Durham, County of Haliburton, County of Northumberland, County of Peterborough, City of Peterborough, City of Kawartha Lakes, and City of Quinte West.

Nominations shall be filed in the City of Oshawa Municipal Clerk's Office, 50 Centre Street South, Oshawa.

In the event there are insufficient number of certified candidates to fill all positions available, nominations will be reopened for the vacant positions only on Wednesday, August 1, 2018, between the hours of 9:00 AM and 2:00 PM and such additional nominations, if required, may be filed in the office of the Municipal Clerk/Returning Officer.

Brent Larmer, Municipal Clerk/Returning Officer for the Town of Cobourg 905-372-4301 <u>blarmer@cobourg.ca</u> or <u>votecobourg2018@cobourg.ca</u>

Dated at: Cobourg, Ontario this 12 day of April, 2018

Nomination and other election information is available on the <u>2018 Municipal Election</u> page.

Voting Day is on Monday, October 22, 2018.

Online and Telephone Voting commences on October 15, 2018 at 8:30 A.M.