Council Members

Cobourg CoatofArms


The Cobourg Municipal Council is comprised of a Mayor, a Deputy Mayor and five Councillors who are elected for four year terms. The Mayor also serves as Cobourg's representative on the Northumberland County Council..


gbrocanier 4Gil Brocanier


1. Northumberland County Council
2. Town of Cobourg Holdings, Inc.
3. Economic Development Advisory Committee
4. Cobourg Community and Civic Awards Committee
5. Northam Industrial Park Advisory Committee
6. Cobourg Police Services Board
7. Chamber of Commerce
8. Victoria Park Ad Hoc Committee
9. Ex-officio Member of all Committees

Deputy Mayor

Stan Frost
Coordinator of General Government Servicess frost


1. Cobourg Downtown Improvement Area Board
2. Cobourg Ecomomic Development Advisory Committee
3. Northam Industrial Park
4. Community Physician and Recruitment & Retention Committee


Miriam Mutton
Coordinator of Public Worksm mutton


1. Cobourg Environmental Advisory Committee
2. Cobourg Water Quality Liaison
3. Active Transportation Committee
4. Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority
5. Accessibility Advisory Committee
6. Cobourg Community Centre Building Committee


Forrest Rowden
Coordinator of Protection Servicesf rowden

E-mail: .

1. Cobourg Police Services Board
2. West Northumberland Communities Safety Association
3. Cobourg Water Quality Liaison
4. Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority
5. Cobourg/Port Hope Waterfront Trail Committee
6. Victoria Park Ad Hoc Committee
7. Cobourg Community Centre Fund Raising Committee


John Henderson
Coordinator of Planning and Developmentj henderson


1. Cobourg Planning Advisory Committee
2. Cobourg Committee of Adjustment
3. Cobourg Heritage Advisory Committee
4. Cobourg Committee for Art in Public Spaces
5. Cobourg Community Centre Building Committee


Donna Todd
Coordinator of Community Servicesd todd

215 Water Street
Cobourg, ON K9A 1R3
Phone (905) 372-0389
Cell: (289) 251-2217


1. Cobourg Public Library
2. Cobourg & District Seniors Committee
3. Cobourg/Port Hope Waterfront Trail
4. Archives Liaison
5. Overall Liaison to Council for Community Events & Tourism
6. Canada Day / First Night / Christmas Magic
7. Cobourg/Coburg, Germany Twinning Advisory Committee
8. Cobourg Community Centre Operating Committee
9. Art Gallery of Northumberland


Larry Sherwin
Coordinator of Parks and Recreationl sherwin

31 Brook Road South
Cobourg, ON K9A 4G3
Phone: (905) 373-0337
Cell: (289) 251-5497


1. Cobourg Parks & Recreation Advisory Committee
2. Northumberland Family YMCA
3. Joint Animal Control Board of Management/Shelter of Hope
4. Cobourg Community Centre Operating Committee



The Municipal Council meets every Monday evening (except during the months of July and August) at 7:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers on the 3rd floor, east wing of Victoria Hall, 55 King Street West, Cobourg. One meeting is held in July and in August and special meetings may be called throughout the year. Council meetings alternate on a weekly basis between the formal Council session and a Committee of the Whole meeting where the entire Council meets in a more informal session to discuss municipal business. All decisions made at a Committee of the Whole meeting must be ratified at a regular Council meeting. A complete Council meeting schedule is available from the Municipal Clerk's Office in Victoria Hall. Agendas for Council meetings are posted on the website and on the bulletin board in the foyer of Victoria Hall.

The Cobourg Municipal Council regularly appoints local citizens to serve on various advisory committees and local boards. These committees and boards have responsibility for providing advice and recommendations to Council regarding municipal services and facilities. In some cases, a local board may have specific responsibility for providing a service to the community, such as the Cobourg Public Library Board.

A list of the various committees and boards follows:

  • West Northumberland Community Safety Association
  • Cobourg Civic and Community Accessibility Committee
  • Cobourg Community Awards Committee
  • Cobourg Committee of Adjustment
  • Cobourg Downtown Business Improvement Area Board of Management
  • Cobourg Economic Development Advisory Committee
  • Cobourg Environmental Advisory Committee
  • Cobourg Heritage Committee
  • Cobourg Parking Advisory Committee
  • Cobourg Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee
  • Cobourg Planning Advisory Committee
  • Cobourg Public Library Board
  • Cobourg Seniors Advisory Committee

From time to time special or ad hoc committees are also appointed by Council for special projects or functions. Information regarding the responsibilities of the various committees and boards and eligibility requirements may be obtained from the Municipal Clerk's Office in Victoria Hall.

Media Releases

Media Releases

None at the present time

Town Calendar

Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
Show Full Calendar

Cobourg Tourism